A time-honored recreational park in Taichung, the Taichung Park is also known as Zhongshan Park and was built in 1903 during the Japanese occupation period. Bordered by Ziyou Road and Gongyuan Road, the park lies in the city’s Central District. In April 1999, it was already listed as a city historical site by the Taichung City government and also chosen one of the top eight scenic spots in Taiwan.
During the Japanese occupation, Taichung streets had been rearranged after the Japanese took over the country’s control. The park was developed at its present site in 1903 and as such, has more than a century of history. The park underwent several upgrades and reconstructions for several years and no longer looks exactly like its original state. Despite the changes, the old pavilion found in Sun Moon Lake still maintains its ancient classic style. Built in 1908, the pavilion is known as Taichung Park’s most famous structure, with visitors renting rowboats to circumnavigate the lake. Other notable sights in the park include the ancient moon pavilion, outdoor music stage, cannon platform, kid’s playground and tennis courts.
The Jih-Yueh Lake in Taichung Park was initially a natural pond. However, due to human modifications, it now covers an area of nearly 13,530 square meters in size. A couple of pavilions can be seen adjacent to the lake, which were constructed as an honor to the establishment of the Crossway Railway in 1908. Japan’s Prince Kanmiya even spent a night in the pavilion during a trip to Taiwan. Rowboats for rent are available for kayaking while observing the striking garden views and ancient relics of Taiwan prefecture. The park has been a regular venue of the Chinese Lantern Festival exhibition conducted yearly.
Looking at the pavilion, you can notice the double pointed roofing with a platform anchored underwater by concrete pillars while the structure over the water level uses wooden pillars and beams. The railing enclosing the pavilion is composed of cast iron while attached on the main pillar is a cast iron lamp. Besides the Summer Pavilion, other ancient structures inside the park include the Taiwan Castle North Gate and Taichung City Wu’s Residence Gatehouse.
The red wooden bridge is one of the highlights of the park, including the huge Ram statue standing mightily amidst the lush green ground. The park is surrounded with abundant greenery, with colorful flowers and luxuriant trees. The water garden topped with a little kiosk is a breath of fresh air to one’s sight, connecting to the little water canal around the Park.
Taichung Park is one of the most important landmarks in the city of Taichung. With this, one should never miss visiting this wonderful place. Transportation is convenient and the park is open all year-round without any entrance fee. When getting to the park by car, take the Taya Highway Interchange, connecting to Taya Road on the way to the city direction and connecting to Kungyuan Road until you reach the park. If you take city bus, catch City Bus numbers 9, 14, 100, 102 and 105.