The Casa Gorordo museum is one of the well-known museums in Cebu City because of its intricate showcase of style. The museum is located in the middle of the Parian district which is known to be among the old streets of Cebu. The Parian district was formerly the most prestigious section of the city and served as home to the most prominent families. The original house owner was Alejandro Reynes Rosales and the house was later bought by a Spanish merchant, Juan Isidro De Gorordo. The Gorordo family resided in the house from 1863 to 1979 until up to four generations. The museum is named after the house owner and the first native Cebuano bishop, Msgr. Juan Gorordo.
The Ramon Aboitiz Foundation currently runs the museum as a special project under the Cultural Heritage Program. They purchased the house in 1980 and opened it as a public museum in 1983. It is constructed using tugas (molave), narra, and bayong (mahogany) accessories. The two-storey building that holds the museum is a reflection of 1860s architecture and the elegant lifestyle of the owner of the house. It is a showcase of the culture and lifestyle at the turn of the century. [Read more…]